A+ R A-

AFEE Awards Announcement 2021

Secretary/Treasurer, Association for Evolutionary Economics. August 13, 2020

Dear AFEE Colleagues,

I write to share news of the AFEE Awards for 2021 approved by the Board. Many thanks to the awards nomination committee for their work:  John Hall (Chair) and committee members Quentin Duroy, Mary Wrenn, Carol Scotton and Alicia Girón.

Veblen-Commons Award:

Deborah M. Figart, Distinguished Professor of Economics
Stockton University

Clarence Ayres Scholar:

Smita Srinivas, Professorial Research Fellow
The Open University UK, Economics Dept. and Development Policy and Practice group

James H. Street Scholar:

Rámon Vincente García Fernández, Full Professor
Federal University of the ABC Region (UFABC)

AFEE Service Award:

Geoffrey Schneider, Presidential Professor and Co-Chair of Economics
Bucknell University

Because the AFEE 2021 program will be delivered virtually in conjunction with the ASSA January 3-5 2021, recognition of these award recipients at the Veblen-Commons Luncheon and the AFEE Membership meeting will be done virtually.  More information about the dates and times of these events will be posted soon on the ASSA webpage and shared with the membership at a later date.  John Watkins has provided the initial program to all participants, but the times still need to be supplied by ASSA:


Information about past recipients can be found at the following webpage, with more information about these recipients posted in 2021.  



Eric R. Hake

AFEE Secretary/Treasurer
On Behalf of the AFEE Board