A+ R A-

Association for Evolutionary Economics




2023 Board Elections – President-Elect and Board of Directors

The Nominating Committee welcomes your nominations for AFEE President-Elect and three members for the AFEE Board of Directors.  Nominations should include: a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications and willingness to serve, and any other useful or relevant supporting documents such as a vita or additional letters of support.

Nominations should be sent to Lynne Chester, Chair, AFEE Nominating Committee by May 1, 2022.

The announcement of final nominees will be made to the general membership after approval by the Board of Directors. Elections will then be conducted under the direction of the AFEE Secretary.

AFEE Nominating Committee Members (all terms end January 5, 2023)

Lynne Chester (Chair, AFEE Nominating Committee)
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Political Economy
University of Sydney, Australia
Log into your account to view the email address.

Leila Davis
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
University of Massachusetts, USA
Log into your account to view the email address.
Thomas Kemp
Professor and Chair, Department of Economics
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Log into your account to view the email address.
Yan Liang
Professor, Department of Economics
Willamette University
Log into your account to view the email address.
Ricardo Siu
Associate Professor in Business Economics
University of Macau
Log into your account to view the email address.


*Bylaws Information (Article XI, Section 7)  7.1 The President of the Association shall appoint a Nominating Committee of five (5) members. In appointing a Nominating Committee, the President shall bear in mind the desirability of appointing members diversified by geographical location, field of specialization, gender, and race-ethnicity.
The purpose of the Nominating Committee is to nominate persons for all elective offices, including the office of Secretary-Treasurer. The names of the members of the Nominating Committee shall be made known to the membership in a timely manner.
7.2 The announcement of the composition of the committee shall be accompanied by a statement inviting suggestions from the membership for names of suitable candidates for office, and by the quotation of this section of the Bylaws. Nominations for each elective office shall be submitted by the Nominating Committee to the Secretary-Treasurer. The Board of Directors shall have authority to approve final nominations of the Nominating Committee.
7.3 The Nominating Committee shall submit to the Board of Directors for approval one (1) name for President-Elect; four (4) names for the two (2) positions to be filled annually on the Board; and two (2) names for the one (1) position of a member who is not a citizen of the United States, must reside outside the United States, and is to be filled every third year on the Board. Members of the Nominating Committee may not be nominated by the same Committee.
7.4 The Secretary-Treasurer shall announce agreed-upon nominations no later than August 15 to the general membership. The announcement shall be accompanied by the quotation of this section of the Bylaws. Additional nominations may be made by any member of the Association for any office if supported by a petition signed by twenty-five (25) members of the Association and received by the Secretary-Treasurer on or before September 15.
7.5 On or before November 1, the Secretary-Treasurer shall prepare a ballot for all members bearing the names agreed upon by the Nominating Committee and the Board of Directors, as well as the names of those nominated by petition, all to be accompanied by brief biographical sketches of the nominees. All votes returned by members of the Association shall be counted and tallied no later than December 1, on which date elections shall be deemed closed.